Going to the movies, another issue. My very close believing friend called me out for a movie today and I was thinking of reasons to avoid it. Then I thought I might as well say it. I texted back saying I can’t as it’s not permissible in Islam. She asked me back if it’s mentioned in the Qur’an that we shouldn’t go for movies. I said yes, it’s mentioned that sitting in a closed room with non mahram men without your mahram is not allowed. I also said its plain waste of money. She encouraged me but also said that she hopes I don’t become a hypocrite:-(. Inshallah I hope so too. I ended up giving money to a friend who was broke and was skipping lunch:-). Alhumduleallah. You have better ways of spending money that Allah has given you. When you favour people, Allah favours you more than you.

Watching television is not bad, what matters is what you watch. There are a lot of useful and amazing as well as entertaining programs on television that do not go against the teachings of Islam. The things that have to be avoided are,

  • Glamorous scenes
  • Obscene scenes
  • Scenes involving praise of other deities or gods other than Allah

I guess that’s it. How hard is it to stay away from these? Either close your eyes or look elsewhere or get a clean version. I know it’s not that simple. But where there’s a will there’s a way. Allah will help us as He knows our intension. People may argue that it doesn’t mean that we believe it or feel like doing what’s in the movies just because we watch. That’s not the point. The point is that you obey what is mentioned in the Qur’an without any scientific proof or argument. There are a lot of Islamic channels, programs and lecture on television. Trust me they’re not boring. If you’re bored at home and you’re watching television, the best thing you can do is go to a Madrasah.  You can’t imagine the feeling it gives. Oh yeah men could go to the Masjid :-).

Allah knows best 🙂 !